الرُبارى

أول أنواع الفرائس التي انتجتها وينجبيت هي طير الحبارى Chlamydotis undulata ، الطريدة الأسمى في الصقارة العربية. الرُبارى هي نسخة مطابقة بالضبط لذكر الحبارى البالغ. لكن فيما يبلغ وزن طير الحبارى الحقيقي 2000جم فإن وزن الرُبارى هو أقلّ من 1000جم. لقد قضينا سنتين في تصميم الرُبارى والاختبارات الأولية لنماذجها على صقور تتراوح في الحجم من ذكور الشاهين/السنقر (الجير) إلى إناث السنقر. كان من الضروري أن تصمّم الرُبارى بعناية فائقة بحيث تطابق ملامح أداء الطيران لأفضل الصقور ولكن دون أن تتفوق عليها. من المهم إيجاد التوازن بين المفترس والفريسة، كما لا يجب ألا تكون الرُبارى من القوة لدرجة أن تسبق الصقر في طيرانها.

للرُبارى نفس حجم وشكل طير الحباري الحقيقي ويمكن تطييرها بأجنحة تخفق. طُبعت أنماط الريش فوتوغرافيّا لإعطائها مظهرا واقعيا. هذا يعني أن الرُبارى تحاكي الحبارى الحيّة الحقيقيّة بحيث يتعامل معها الصقر وكأنها حيّة. ستطارد الصقور الرُبارى لمجرد متعة المطاردة، وستنقض على رأسها إن استطاعت وستتمسك متشبثة بها إلى أن تصل إلى الأرض، وستحاول عند الهبوط أن "تقتل" الرُبارى بعضّ رقبتها الواقعية المظهر والمغطاة بنسيج الليكرا المطّاطي.

يمكن للرُبارى في يد طيّار ماهر أن تحلّق إلى ارتفاع 500 مترا (1650 قدم) في ثلاث دقائق. تقوم موديلات التسابق بإرسال البيانات الآنيّة عن الارتفاع والسرعة الجويّة. يمكن لسرعتها عند الطيران المستوي مضاهاة سرعة الصقر – أي قرابة 32م/ثانية (50 ميلا في الساعة)، ويمكنها أن تطير في رياح تبلغ سرعتها القوة 7، لكن الحد الأعلى الأكثر واقعيّة هو القوّة 5. يدار المحرّك الكهربائي الداخلي ببطاريّة تدوم لخمس دقائق في وضع الطاقة القصوى أي قرابة ما يكفي لأغراض المنافسة. يمكن أن يمتد عمر البطاريّة عند الاستخدام لأغراض التدريب إلى 8-10 دقائق.

يجب أن تكون الرُبارى آمنة للصقر عند اصطدامه بها في انقضاضه بأقصى سرعة، وأن يمسك بها إلى أن يبلغ الأرض. قد يمكن لذلك أن يشكّل إجهادا كبيرا للصقور الأصغر حجما، لكننا لم نواجه أي إصابات. السطح الخارجي ملس تماما وليس به أي أجزاء أو أجهزة بارزة. صُنع الرأس، الذي يتلقّى الضربات من الصقر، من مطّاط رغوي خاص لاستيعاب قُوى انقضاض الصقر. يمكن للرأس أن ينهرس تماما في حال هبوط الرُبارى بالخطأ مباشرة على رأسها ليمتصّ بالتالي جزءا كبيرا من أثر الارتطام بدلا من نقله إلى الهيكل الذي يحتوي على الإلكترونيات. أما من جهة صحّة وسلامة البشر، فإن الرُبارى خفيفة وليّنة جدا ولا تشكّل خطرا يذكر على المتفرّجين أو الجمهور بعكس الحال في طائرات المراوح والمروحيّات.

تتوفر الرُبارى بخيارين. ترفرف أجنحة رُبارى التدريب كأجنحة الحبارى الحية وتبدو واقعيّة جدا. هذا أمر رائع بالنسبة لصغار الصقور التي لا تستطيع مقاومة إغراء خفقان الأجنحة. من هنا لا تفصلها سوى خطوة بسيطة عن الانتقال لصيد الحبارى البريّة. يستخدم جناح التدريب أيضا في المستوى الأول من منافسات الطيران، لكن قوى الجاذبيّة والسرعة الجويّة فوق هذا المستوى تفوق تحمّل جناح التدريب. الجناح الرياضي أكثر متانة ولا يحتوي على أي أجزاء متحرّكة، وهو مصمّم للتعامل مع السرعات الأكبر والمناورات اللازمة في منافسات الطيران إلى المستوى 5 الذي تبلغه أفضل الصقور. الأجنحة الرياضيّة معدّة لتلقّي معاملة أشد وهي بسيطة جدا في تصميمها، وتركيب جناحين جديدين أمر سهل.

صممت الرُبارى كي "تُقتل" مثل أي حبارى حقيقي. وهي مصمّمة لتلقي الضربات والإمساك بالمخالب ومصارعتها إلى الأرض من ارتفاعات كبيرة. كما أنها مصممة لتنكسر، إذ أننا نفضّل أن تنكسر الرُبارى على أن يجرح صقر ثمين. الرُبارى، في نفس الوقت، مصمّمة للإصلاح بسرعة ولها قطع غيار قابلة للاستبدال. سيظهر على الرُبارى الخاصة بك بعد حين بعض "جروح الحروب" ولكنها ستستمرّ في الطيران! في الأحوال العاديّة، وعند إمساك الصقر بها في الجو، فإنه سيهبط بها إلى الأرض دون أي أضرار أو بأضرار طفيفة. أسوأ أنواع الأضرار هي تلك التي تسببها أخطاء الطيارين. يمكن لبعض الطيارين أن يصابوا بالذعر حين يطاردهم على الأرض صقر بضراوة.

The Robara The Robara The Robara

The Robara

Wingbeat's first prey species is the Houbara Bustard Chlamydotis undulata, the ultimate quarry of Arabian falconry. The Robara is an exact replica of an adult male Houbara. But whereas the real Houbara weighed 2000g, the Robara weighs less than 1000g. We have spent two years designing the Robara and testing prototypes on falcons ranging in size from male gyr/peregrines through to female gyrfalcons. The Robara has to be very carefully designed so that it can match the flight performance profiles of the very best falcons, but not exceed them. It is important that the balance between predator and prey is maintained and the Robara must not be so powerful that it can outfly the falcon.

The Robara is the same size and shape as a real Houbara and can fly with flapping wings. Its feather pattern is printed photographically to give it a realistic appearance. This means that it mimics a real live Houbara, and the falcon treats it as if it was real. It chases the Robara just for the joy of chasing, it stoops at its head if it can, and binds to the head, hanging on all the way down to the ground. When it lands it tries to 'kill' the Robara by biting its neck, which is covered with a realistic lycra skin.

In the hands of a skilled pilot, the Robara can climb to 500m (1650 feet) in 3 minutes and is very agile. Competition models transmit down real-time data on altitude and airspeed. In level flight the top speed matches that of the falcon - about 23m/sec (50 mph). It can be flown in winds of up to Force 7, but for practical purposes Force 5 is a more realistic upper limit. Its electric internal impeller has a battery life of 5 minutes under full power which is about right for competition purposes. When used in training, not under full power, flights can last 8-10 minutes.

The Robara has to be safe for the falcon to hit it at high speed in a stoop, and to hold it all the way down to the ground. On a windy day this can put a huge strain on a small falcon, but we have never had any injuries. The external surface is completely smooth with no protruding elements or servos. The head which takes a pounding from the falcon, is made of a special foam rubber to absorb the forces of the falcon's stoop. It is able to crush completely when the Robara is accidently flown head first into the ground, thereby absorbing a lot of the impact rather than transmitting it into the fuselage which contains the electronics. From the point of view of human Health and Safety, the Robara is very light and soft, and poses little risk to bye-standers, unlike propeller planes and copters.

The Robara has two wing options. The Trainer wing beats like a live Houbara and it looks very realistic. It is great for starting the young falcons who cannot resist the flapping. It is a simple step from there to hunting wild Houbara. The Trainer wing is also used for Level One competition flying. But above this level the G-forces and airspeeds are too great for the Trainer wing. The Sports wing is tougher and has no moving parts. It is designed to take the higher speeds and manoeuvres needed in competition flying right up to Level 5 reached by the very best falcons. Sports wings come in for much rougher treatment and being very simple in their design it is an easy matter to fit a new pair.

The Robara is designed to be 'killed' just like a real Houbara. It is designed to be hit, clawed and wrestled to the ground from great heights. It is designed to be broken! We would much rather smash a Robara than injure a precious falcon. But the Robara is also designed to be easily repaired and has interchangeable replaceable parts. Your Robara will soon carry some 'war wounds' but it can keep flying! Usually, when a falcon catches it in the air, the falcon will bring it to earth with little or no damage. The worst damage is usually caused by pilot error. Pilots can panic when being chased hard near the ground by a keen falcon...

The Robara The Robara The Robara